Good Storytelling

The memories continue with this one from Board Member Steve Heumann. Share your stories at Facebook.com/TheatreHorizon!
“My ‘introduction’ to Theatre Horizon was via first meeting Matt in August, 2006 while he was AD for Arden [Theatre]’s A Prayer for Owen Meany and I was the ‘outsider’ attending every rehearsal of that production and writing a blog for the Arden’s web site about the rehearsal process … from the perspective of an outsider.  He had never worked for Arden.  I had never blogged.  Two peas in a pod!  At some point, Matt mentioned he and a friend had co-founded a theatre company in Montgomery County a couple of years before.  It was only one of our many passing conversations in the midst of the long days and nights of rehearsals.  I remember saying that I’d like to catch one of his productions.  He mentioned Erin’s name at the time, who I think I’d heard of from her acting gigs.
In any event, later that season I saw my first Theatre Horizon production, Once on This Island.  I was very taken by this very polished production in the unusual space of the UM junior high or middle school.  I thought they were on to something.  I wanted to follow up.
Next, I saw Working, an even more accomplished piece that was both touching and showed the capacity of TH for good story telling.
During that time I met Erin and became more familiar with both she and Matt, their backgrounds and their shared vision.  I was sold on their drive, talent and enthusiasm to create theatre in the suburbs with same or better quality than what is available in the city.  I offered to volunteer in any way my experience could help.  Jane and I attended a fund raiser and it was there that we met the earliest supporters and staff.
Theatre Horizon is fulfilling that early promise.  The future holds even more.  Jane and I have been proud Honorary Producers for several productions and I’m delighted to volunteer my time for the organization.
Happy 7th Birthday!!!”
Leave a Reply

